7th Annual

Montana Indian Athletic Hall of Fame

Induction Ceremony

December 7, 2016


Petro Theatre




  • JR Bremner – 4-time state Class C cross country champion from Heart Butte and the Blackfeet Nation.

  • Joe Hipp - Blackfeet Heavyweight Boxing Champion

  • John Kindness –Hays/Lodgepole Thunderbird basketball Phenom.

  • Kayla Lambert – Basketball-Brockton and the Dakota Nation.

  • Jack Manning – Dartmouth rugby and top 10 defensive back in their football history out of Bozeman High and representing Sioux country.

  • Veronica Kempfert - Cut Bank Wolf and University of Montana Grizzlies trackster with a tally of 12 state gold medals in her high school career.

  • Merlin Running Wolf – Browning Indians All-American and two time cross country champion.

  • Mike Reynolds – Legendary track and cross country coach representing Cut Bank and Salish country.

  • Kenny Smoker - Back-to-back state champion in 1974 and 1975 Poplar point guard representing the Assiniboine Nation.

  • Jim Baker – 4 Sport Athlete-Whitefish Bulldog and 1950s quarterback, champion javelin thrower, Grizzlies basketball player and Phillies affiliated minor league baseball player from the Blackfeet Nation.

  • Victor Bearskin –Wolf Point's 1951 state champion point guard and calf roper from the Assiniboine Tribe.

  • Lyle Cochran - Groundbreaking Assiniboine rodeo legend with over 47 saddles and hundreds of buckles.

  • JR Camel - University of Montana Grizzlies basketball player, AA basketball and high jump state champion from the Salish/Kootenai Tribes.

  • Louie Incashola - Salish/Kootenai basketball champion and legend.

  • Charles Farmer – 26 titled weightlifting champion from Browning.

  • Dana Goes Ahead – Plenty Coups High school’s two-time cross country and track state champion and 1981 state basketball champion from Crow Country.

  • Archie MacDonald –All-around Salish/Kootenai athlete that played for Haskell and the University of Montana Grizzlies football team in the late 1930s.


    • 1971 BUSBY EAGLES-State C Basketball Team representing the Cheyenne Nation

    • 3-peat Basketball Champions: 1988, 89, 90 Lodge Grass Indians

PO Box 1653 East Helena, MT 59635

©2016 by IDENTITY INC.